Became one with the Force

In the course of my life I have come across dogs of all shapes and sizes, some on the streets, as a pet at friend’s/relative’s and we used to have two at home. However Appu is different; yes looks of a dog, and the behaviour of a human. I am not exaggerating; from the first day that I met him at Vivekananda Kendra in Kodungallur, there was some invisible bonding and silent communication between us. It is as though he understood every word I said to him. Initially I thought it is my own imagination playing tricks, however there were many incidents that had me convinced that Appu is an elevated soul in the form of a dog. Like I said he somehow would understand whatever was told to him, and there are times when he would look at me and there was so much unsaid in that brown eyes of his. My younger daughter quickly became very close to Appu, and I observed the same silent communication happening between them; for my daughter the primary reason to visit Kendra was to meet Appu, and get him his favourite cup cakes! On days when I would be at Kendra and when I call back home, this first question I get from my younger daughter is ‘how is Appu?’ And like I said before Appu would patiently listen to my daughter and obey all her instructions.

On another occasion my elder daughter had sustained an injury while playing during a camp, and had got a small cut on her forehead which was bleeding. One of the inmates made her lay down on a couch and applied some medicine to stop the bleeding. During this time I observed Appu moving around here and there near the couch and repeatedly looking at our faces as if enquiring ‘is everything ok?’ Somehow he was not satisfied with the responses he got, so he raised his forelegs on to the edge of the couch so that he can see my daughter. I was literally taken aback with this sudden development; my daughter also noticed, she patted him and told I am ok and fine. That was the answer he was looking for; he walked away from the couch to the corner of the room and lay down to grab a quick nap.

This evening Appu left all of us physically to become one with the force that surrounds each one of us. Like Obi-Wan Kenobi said in Star Wars “the force is an energy field created by all living things. It surrounds us and penetrates us; it binds the galaxy together.” “Death is a natural part of life. Rejoice for those around you who transform into the Force. Mourn them do not. Miss them do not.”

IMG_8738IMG_8746MeetingDPP__0022_1DPP__0013DPP__0012IMG_6345IMG_9660IMG_7266

Leave a Reply

